Skip to content

Christmas Turkey

December 22, 2009

I had a tough few days cycling into Istanbul over a week ago, playing chicken with monster lorries and failing to avoid heavy, cold rain. So it has been great to spend some time in this vibrant city. I have been here for over a week though, so it is time to move on. In a couple of hours I will catch a ferry across the corner of the Sea of Marmara to Yalova, and from there head towards the stark landscape of Central Anatolia, where I’ll spend Christmas drinking water, eating Milka chocolate, and cycling. The weather has turned cold, and I am expectıng the next 3 weeks crossing Turkey to be the toughest so far.

But before I head off I just wanted to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Thank you for all your emails/ tweets/ texts etc. I’m falling further and further behind with emails so please bear with me…..

I’ve just realised the time – I’m going to mıss the boat if I’m not careful. Arghhh. More comıng very soon.

HAPPY CHRISTMAS, AND IF YOU’RE IN ENGLAND, ENJOY THE SNOW…!

Please help me out by sharing thıs blog usıng the tab on the rıght hand sıde of the page. It helps me spread the word, and hopefully therefore raise more money for charity!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 1:26 pm

    Good luck Oli with the rest of your journey through Turkey and beyond. It’s lovely and warm today here in Fethiye – but I guess you’ll be aiming further north than here. Enjoy it anyway.

    İyi yolculuklar!

    • December 22, 2009 3:20 pm

      Thanks barry/ julia, good to have you on board! Cold in istanbul but good weather forecast for christmas which is a blessing…! Keep following, and thanks for helping spread the word…!

  2. December 22, 2009 2:08 pm

    Take care. One good thing about the lorries in Turkey – you’ll probably be faster then them! We’re passing this blog on to as many people as we can think of.

    Safe journey – iyi yolculuklar!

  3. David Butler permalink
    December 23, 2009 6:37 pm

    A very Happy Christmas Oli from all the Butlers. We read all your blogs with huge interest and admiration. Take care and love from us all.

Leave a Reply

