Skip to content

The Turkish Interior – Flat But Not Boring

January 11, 2010

Cycling through central Turkey has lived up to my high expectations. Travelling by bike means I have seen the fertile valleys in the north-west slowly give way to a vast plateau of arid farm and scrub land in Central Anatolia and, in recent days, the other-worldly rock formations of Capadoccia. For 3 days I pedalled across an ancient salt lake towards this mountain – it was the only feature on the horizon.  

Choosing the least populated route through Turkey means I have managed to find deserted buildings to pitch my tent in.

I have been able to undertake scientific experiments to demonstrate the enormity of the Turkish interior.

…and I have met some inquisitive and confused villagers.

But it hasn’t been all plain sailing. The moustachioed man in the last video tried to steal my camera just before I left his friend’s house. It was a shame. I had enjoyed eating and drinking chai with them.

There have been a few other blips too, but more about them in a blog later in the week. For now, it’s back to my dorm in a cave hostel in Capadoccia. I want to get back on the road tomorrow if the snow stops.

If you enjoyed this blog please help spread the word and link it on your facebook or twitter page. Please sign up for email updates from my trip here. Please donate to one or both of my two worthwhile charities here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    January 11, 2010 10:27 pm

    Some people may say you are losing the plot but having had a good chat on Skype tonight we know better! Shame you couldn’t find anyone to play with you but maybe next time! Keep pedalling and enjoying.

  2. January 11, 2010 10:41 pm

    The movies are a great idea. It paints a good picture of what you’re doing, and you looked so cosy in your sleeping bag!

    Is the beard getting darker?

  3. Becca permalink
    January 12, 2010 5:30 am

    Yes more video posts please.

    I love your turkish “I make photo, it’s niiiiiice”

  4. Happy Gilmour permalink
    January 12, 2010 10:17 am

    Third that, videos are great. Just as well no-one accepted your request for the game of cricket, that pitch looked like a real “turner” and no visible boundaries at all: Would have done your tour batting average no favours at all.

  5. milo, serpil whatever permalink
    January 13, 2010 1:38 pm

    ahahahahaha! and you were saying “bad english teeth”. it can’t beat the “central anatolian teeth”.
    and i loooooved the second video, brilliant!

  6. January 16, 2010 2:22 pm

    Hi Oli – you seem to be doing so well and I am enjoying looking at your websight. Keep up the good work. We all think of you often and miss you. Take care love Tessa x
    Not missed much here with the freezing weather and SNOW!

Leave a Reply

