Skip to content

Cycling To The Ashes at the Budapest Bicycle Film Festival

March 29, 2010

Back in November, while enjoying Budapest’s varied attractions, I met a really enthusiastic film-maker called Lazslo (Laci) Jozsa. He decided to film me while I was leaving Budapest, and then he caught a train to Belgrade to cover a cricket match in the stunning 3rd century fort.

Then in December I met Milo, a Turkish film director who came to Southern Turkey and Syria to film my adventures. Milo really tested my resolve by spending days following me in a car, sometimes sitting behind me for hours in the freezing cold and pouring rain as I kept pedalling. As we neared the Syrian border at Reyhanli, her car was surrounded by 12 soldiers armed with automatic weapons, because she was driving too slowly – I just couldn’t pedal any harder.

Laci has now edited his and Milo’s material into the short film you see below, and has entered it into the BBFF. Most of you will know this, but, just in case you weren’t aware, I can tell you that BBFF stands for Budapest Bicycle Film Festival (niche?)

I’m really grateful to Laci for filming and editing, and to Milo for filming and putting up with me for 2 weeks, They have encouraged me to get my video camera out more and more, and thanks to them I will have a library of footage to look back on when I’m grey and old. Enjoy the film, which features footage in locations as varied as Hungary, Serbia, England, Turkey and Syria.

If you liked this entry then sign up to receive future blogs by email here. Keep donating to my two charities here – there’s a long way to go! The leg is feeling better, mind is still intact, and I’m really looking forward to getting on the bike again now. At the end of the week I am travelling to Mumbai where I will spend a few days before beginning the long, cricket packed Indian leg. Thanks for your continued interest, I love you all. Oli x

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Happy Gilmour permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:14 am

    Good “crichet”

  2. Marian permalink
    March 30, 2010 10:52 am

    Wow!!!! That was brilliant. I felt I was there with you. So so proud of my nephew. Love you lots.

  3. March 30, 2010 7:14 pm

    Absolute quality mate…getting me very excited!

  4. Dad permalink
    April 2, 2010 1:05 pm

    Pops – it’s Annie…I’ve only just managed to watch this – wicked! made me smile the whole way through 🙂 (apart from the up-close of me – thanks for that Laci!!)
    Love it xxxxx

  5. April 2, 2010 1:34 pm

    sorry about the close-up 🙂

  6. Tamme Giese permalink
    April 19, 2010 4:31 am

    Know nothing about cricket, but it was a great video! And very funny (say 12 and 9 year old girls). Good luck on your trip.

Leave a Reply

