Skip to content

A Couple of Photo Slideshows

June 18, 2010

A couple of videos for you as I head for Thailand…..

I have been in Dhaka, the hot and hectic capital of Bangladesh, for 10 days now. I have spent most of those trying to find a way out of Bangladesh, the notorious dead end of Asian cycle routes. Myanmar, politically unstable military dictatorship, was my only possible onward route (I can’t apply for another Indian visa until August). I have spoken to cycle tour guides there (“you won’t get into Myanmar without flying, and paying for a guide across the country, and then you have to fly out too”), sought help from the British government in Bangladesh, considered jumping aboard a ship bound for Yangon (highly illegal for a foreigner) and even had a shouting match over the (very low) gates at the Myanmar Embassy here in Dhaka – they wouldn’t let me in. I have failed. I am not the first cycle tourist to come up against the inpenetrable wall that is the Myanmar border, but somehow I thought I would be able to fight through the politics and find a way in. I have made a compromise, because I must keep half an eye on Brisbane, and booked onto a plane that will take me the short distance to Chiang-Mai in tropical northern Thailand. From there I will pedal south for a couple of months through exotic Thailand, into Malaysia and Indonesia. I have a game of cricket arranged in the mountains of Java. My host in Java has managed to find me an empty cattle boat that I will be catching from there to Darwin.

So for now I leave you, bound for Thailand, with these two slideshows. The first is a presentation I gave at the British High Commission in Dhaka last week. The second is just one I made last night. I hope it makes you want to get on your bike and see a few places. Enjoy, and goodbye from the sub-continent, where I have spent two and a half months sweating.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 9:09 am

    Oli – Amazing videos and really inspirational as usual! Mxxx

  2. Jamie Howkins permalink
    June 18, 2010 2:21 pm

    I reckon you could do a full 10 minutes just on the clips of you guys gurning in the tent. Great video! Enjoy Thailand. Jamie.

  3. Nicki permalink
    June 27, 2010 4:55 am

    Great song at the beginning, AMAZING dancing at the end! 😉

  4. Corky permalink
    July 2, 2010 12:52 pm

    It wasn’t only the oceans making me cry! Inspiring stuff. Forget reality TV programmes – this is a truly amazing journey! BTW what is the backing track for the 1st video? Great song…

  5. Ian Henderson permalink
    July 28, 2010 11:27 am

    Inspirational stuff- the whole thing! a beautiful thing- thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

